Zelda Cavern Forums
Home > Link's Awakening

Original Release Dates:

June 6, 1993
August 1993
November 1993
Nintendo Switch
September 20, 2019
September 20, 2019
September 20, 2019
September 20, 2019
Gameboy Color
December 12, 1998
December 15, 1998
January 1, 1999

Title & Intro Video:


After training abroad, Link is sailing back to Hyrule, but is shipwrecked in a violent storm. He awakens on Koholint Island, and is taken to the house of a kind man named Tarin, and his daughter Marin. After recovering his sword from Koholint's beaches, a mysterious owl tells Link that in order to return home, he must awaken the guardian of Koholint - the Wind Fish - by gathering and playing the eight Instruments of the Sirens. Marin, fascinated by Link and the outside world across the sea he represents, tells him wistfully that she would like to one day travel across the sea. After collecting all eight instruments from the eight dungeons across Koholint, Link climbs to the top of the Tal Tal Mountain range and plays the "Ballad of the Wind Fish" with all eight Instruments. This causes the egg where the Wind Fish sleeps to break open, and Link enters to face off against a final boss; the nightmare takes the form of Ganon and other enemies from Link's past before it is defeated. Once the boss is destroyed, the Wind Fish awakes, and reveals that all of Koholint is in fact a dream; once the Wind Fish awakes, the island and all its inhabitants will cease to exist. Once Link plays the Ballad once more, both he and the Wind Fish awaken, with Link drifting in the middle of the ocean. Right before the ending credits roll, Link spies a seagull, which is Marin getting her wish to explore beyond the island.